Violet Lotus

GUGI's MASSAGE THERAPY & ACUPUNCTURE

Please Call For An Appointment: (506) 382-5238

Fran├žais

FAQ's

 

Payment:

 

  1. When do I pay for the service?
  2. What forms of payment are accepted?
  3. Is medical insurance accepted?

 

Massage:

 

  1. What should I expect during my first massage therapy visit?
  2. Where will my massage session take place?
  3. What do I wear during the massage?
  4. What do I do during a massage therapy treatment?
  5. How will a massage feel?
  6. Will the massage oils used make me break-out?
  7. Is a massage always appropriate?
  8. How long will a massage treatment last?
  9. How will I feel after the massage therapy treatment?

 

Acupuncture:

 

  1. What can acupuncture treat?
  2. How does acupuncture work?
  3. What does the examination and consultation involve?
  4. How long is the visit?
  5. Is acupuncture safe?
  6. Do the needles hurt?
  7. What is moxibustion?
  8. What is cupping?

 

 

Payment Answers:

 

  1. When do I pay for the service?[Top]

    You do not pay for any service until after the service has been completed. If you are not able to show for your appointment then Gugi will not be paid, so please consider this and call in advance to cancel or change the appointment. When you give adequate warning of a cancellation then another client can fill your cancelled appointment.

  2. What forms of payment are accepted?[Top]

    Other than cash, VISA, Mastercard and debit are also accepted.

  3. Is medical insurance accepted?[Top]

    These services are accepted by most insurance plans.

 

Massage Answers:

 

  1. What should I expect during my first massage therapy visit?[Top]

    Your massage therapist will require you to fill out a health history form. Afterwards the therapist will begin by asking you general questions to establish what areas you would like worked on, if there are any conditions needing to be addressed and to determine if massage is appropriate for you. Your massage therapist may perform certain assessments and testing to evaluate your condition, and to see if you have any presenting complaints.

  2. Where will my massage session take place?[Top]

    Your massage will take place in a warm, comfortable, quiet room. Music may be played to help you relax. You will lie on a table especially designed for your comfort

  3. What do I wear during the massage?[Top]

    Depending on the primary technique your therapist uses, you may or may not need to undress. For a full body massage, most people undress completely. However, you may choose to wear underwear. Your massage therapist will give you privacy to undress, and you will be covered with a sheet and blanket at all times except the area being worked on.

  4. What do I do during a massage therapy treatment?[Top]

    Make yourself comfortable. If your therapist wants you to adjust your position, she will either move you or will ask you to move what is needed. Otherwise, change your position anytime to make yourself more comfortable. Many people close their eyes and relax completely during a session; others prefer to talk. It's up to you. It is your massage, and whatever feels natural to you is the best way to relax. Do not hesitate to ask questions at any time.

  5. How will a massage feel?[Top]

    It usually depends on the techniques used. Many massage therapists use a form of Swedish massage, which is often a baseline for practitioners. In a general Swedish massage, your session may start with broad, flowing strokes (effleurage) that will help calm your nervous system and relax exterior muscle tension. As your body becomes relaxed, pressure will gradually be increased to relax specific areas and relieve areas of muscular tension. Often, a light oil or lotion is used to allow your muscles to be massaged without causing excessive friction to the skin. Do not hesitate to ask questions or mention if you feel any discomfort so that the massage therapist can use another approach or technique.

  6. Will the massage oils used make me break-out?[Top]

    Most massage therapists use hypoallergenic massage oils or lotions. However, if you have sensitivity to certain types of oils or lotion please bring it to the massage therapist's attention as most practitioners have an assortment of oils and lotions on hand. Or, you can bring your own lotion or oil, if that makes you most comfortable.

  7. Is a massage always appropriate?[Top]

    No, there are several medical conditions that would make massage inappropriate. That's why it is necessary that you fill out the health history forms and before you begin your session. The massage therapist will ask general health questions to rule out if you have any contraindications to massage. It is very important that you inform the practitioner of any health problems or medications you are taking. If you are under a doctor's care, it is strongly advised that you receive a written recommendation for massage prior to any session. Your massage therapist may require a recommendation or approval from your doctor.

  8. How long will a massage treatment last?[Top]

    The average full-body massage treatment lasts approximately one hour. A half-hour appointment only allows time for a partial massage session, such as neck and shoulders, back or legs and feet. Many people prefer a 60- to 90-minute session for optimal relaxation. Always allow relaxation time prior to and after the session.

  9. How will I feel after the massage therapy treatment?[Top]

    Most people feel very relaxed. Some experience freedom from long-term aches and pains developed from tension or repetitive activity. After an initial period of feeling slowed down, people often experience increased energy, heightened awareness, and greater productivity which can last for days. Since toxins are released from your soft tissues during a massage, it is recommended you drink plenty of water following your massage. Massage therapists sometimes recommend a hot Epsom salt bath that encourages the release of toxins that may have been stirred up from the massage treatment.

 

Acupuncture Answers:

 

  1. What can acupuncture treat?[Top]

    Many Canadians have been learning about Oriental medicine from magazine articles and television programs. They are now curious as to whether their health or condition can benefit from oriental medicine. The World Health Organization has determined that acupuncture is an effective therapy for over 200 clinical conditions, including:

    • neck, back and shoulder pain
    • repetitive stress syndrome (including carpal tunnel syndrome)
    • insomnia
    • migraines and headaches
    • alcohol, food, and tobacco addiction
    • accidental injuries (promotes healing)
    • sprains
    • osteoarthritis
    • rheumatoid arthritis
    • respiratory problems
    • digestive problems
    • gynecological disorders
    • circulatory disorders
    • nervous system disorders

    Acupuncture also reduces stress and anxiety, and helps patients enter a deep state of relaxation, which enhances the healing process. Herbal medicine can increase the effectiveness of your acupuncture treatment and is often the primary treatment for chronic internal medical disorders.

  2. How does acupuncture work?[Top]

    Acupuncture works with the body's life-energy or bioelectric energy,"qi" (che). Qi flows in well-defined pathways throughout the body. Some scientists believe these are the paths of least resistance in the body. Acupuncture points are places where this energy flow tends to get stuck, and is easily accessible. Pain, illness and discomfort are symptoms of blocked or disrupted energy flow. After the causes and origins of the blockage are identified, the qi is accessed through particular acupuncture points, and smooth balanced flow is carefully encouraged. As harmonious flow is restored, the entire body benefits, and symptoms tend to disappear.

  3. What does the examination and consultation involve?[Top]

    An exam/consultation includes what you tell the practitioner about your medical history and what your body says: The appearance of the face and body build, the shape and color of the tongue, the quality of the pulses, the feel of diagnostic areas such as the abdomen and back. An acupuncturist may test for weaknesses along the "meridians" and weaknesses in the muscles. Sometimes devices that measure electrical activity of acupoints may be used.

  4. How long is the visit?[Top]

    Usually the first visit is the longest in order to allow for a complete history taking and exam - typically an hour. Follow-up visits are shorter, usually 15 to 45 minutes, depending on practitioner and patient needs. Sometimes other therapies, such as moxabustion, acupressure/massage and exercises are incorporated with the acupuncture treatment.

  5. Is acupuncture safe?[Top]

    Yes. Acupuncture has no unpleasant side effects and does not interfere with any medical treatment you may already be receiving. Occasionally patients may get a small local bruise or feel light-headed for a few moments. The acupuncture itself is as gentle or strong as the patient needs. Highly sensitive patients only require a very light touch in order to get results. In China, we often witnessed a 'no pain no gain' approach to acupuncture. Generally, practitioners in the west are gentler. When anxious patients feel their first acupuncture needle, they usually respond: "Oh, is that all?" There should be no discomfort to the patient, except as new feelings often described as 'weird', 'pulling', 'warm' or 'achy'. There is usually an overall sense of deep relaxation.

    The practitioner is well aware of the concern over infectious diseases, and takes every measure to insure cleanliness as all health care professional do. Our needles are sterile and only used one time. Bleeding rarely occurs, unless done so on purpose in specific situations. Even then the amount is minimal and in no way dangerous.

  6. Do the needles hurt?[Top]

    Some patients do not feel ready for needles ("healing filaments") on their first visit. Needles used for acupuncture are almost as thin as a human hair. Often, when patients first feel the sensation of needles, their fears dissolve. We use very gentle technique. Each session is tailored to meet the specific needs and sensitivities of the patient. In addition to the acupuncture, patients are often treated with moxibustion (an herbal warming method), acupressure, and cupping. Customized herbal formulations are often recommended as well. Patients are given suggestions for self-care between appointments.

  7. What is moxibustion?[Top]

    Moxibustion is the burning on the skin of the herb moxa. The Chinese character 'Chiu' is used to describe the art of moxibustion, and literally means 'to scar with a burning object'. Moxibustion does not now involve scarring, but moxa is still used to provide local heat over acupuncture points. It is made from the dried leaves of Artemisia vulgaris and the Chinese believe that the older the moxa, the better its therapeutic properties.

  8. What is cupping?[Top]

    Cupping is a therapy in which a jar is attached to the skin surface to cause local congestion through the negative pressure created by introducing heat in the form of an ignited material.

Violet Lotus

GUGI's MASSAGE THERAPY & ACUPUNCTURE

Réclamez sil vous plaît un rendez-vous: (506) 382-5238

English

FAQ's

 

Payment:

 

  1. When do I pay for the service?
  2. What forms of payment are accepted?
  3. Is medical insurance accepted?

 

Massage:

 

  1. À quoi puis-je m'attendre lors de ma première visite?
  2. Où aura lieu la séance de massothérapie?
  3. Que dois-je porter durant la séance de massothérapie?
  4. Qu'est-ce que je fais durant la séance de massage?
  5. Comment vais-je me sentir durant le massage?
  6. Les huiles de massage peuvent-elles causer des effets secondaires?
  7. Un massage est-il toujours approprié?
  8. Quelle est la durée d'une séance de massage?
  9. Comment vais-je me sentir après la séance de massage?

 

Acuponcture:

 

  1. Quelles conditions l'acuponcture peut-elle traiter?
  2. Comment fonctionne l'acuponcture?
  3. Qu'impliquent l'examen et la consultation?
  4. Quelle est la durée d'une visite chez l'acuponcteur ou acuponctrice?
  5. Est-ce que l'acuponcture est sécuritaire?
  6. Est-ce que les aiguilles font mal?
  7. Qu'est-ce que la moxibustion?
  8. Qu'est-ce que la succion par ventouse?

 

 

Réponses de Paiement:

 

  1. When do I pay for the service?[Top]

    You do not pay for any service until after the service has been completed. If you are not able to show for your appointment then Gugi will not be paid, so please consider this and call in advance to cancel or change the appointment. When you give adequate warning of a cancellation then another client can fill your cancelled appointment.

  2. What forms of payment are accepted?[Top]

    Other than cash, VISA, Mastercard and debit are also accepted.

  3. Is medical insurance accepted?[Top]

    These services are accepted by most insurance plans.

 

Réponses Massage:

 

  1. À quoi puis-je m'attendre lors de ma première visite?[Top]

    Tout d'abord, la massothérapeute vous demandera de remplir un formulaire d'information sur votre santé. Puis, elle vous posera des questions d'ordre général pour déterminer quelles parties du corps vous voulez faire masser, si certains aspects de votre condition physique demandent une attention spéciale et si la massothérapie est appropriée pour vous. Finalement, elle pourrait évaluer votre condition par des tests pour vérifier si certains symptômes sont présents.

  2. Où aura lieu la séance de massothérapie?[Top]

    Elle aura lieu dans une chambre chauffée où le confort et la tranquillité vous relaxeront. Vous reposerez sur une table toute désignée pour votre confort. On pourra aussi faire jouer de la musique pour vous aider à relaxer.

  3. Que dois-je porter durant la séance de massothérapie?[Top]

    Selon la technique utilisée par la massothérapeute, vous pourriez ne pas avoir besoin de vous dévêtir. Toutefois, pour un massage total du corps, la plupart des personnes préfèrent se déshabiller complètement. Vous pouvez néanmoins décider de porter des sous-vêtements. La massothérapeute vous laisse vous dévêtir en toute intimité et, durant la séance, votre corps, sauf la partie massée, sera recouvert d'un drap et d'une couverture.

  4. Qu'est-ce que je fais durant la séance de massage?[Top]

    Vous restez étendu(e) confortablement. Afin d'ajuster la position de votre corps, la massothérapeute fera bouger la partie nécessaire ou vous demandera de la bouger légèrement. Quoi qu'il en soit, en tout temps, vous pouvez vous déplacer pour être plus confortable. C'est votre massage et vous choisissez la manière la plus naturelle de relaxer. Plusieurs ferment les yeux, d'autres préfèrent parler. N'hésitez pas à poser des questions quand il vous plaira.

  5. Comment vais-je me sentir durant le massage?[Top]

    Tout dépend de la méthode utilisée. Pour ce qui est du massage suédois, la plupart des massothérapeutes commencent la séance par un toucher léger ou effleurage qui calme le système nerveux et relaxe la tension musculaire externe. à mesure que le corps se relaxe, on augmente la pression pour relaxer certaines parties et les soulager de leur tension musculaire. On utilise également de l'huile ou une lotion légère pour masser la peau sans causer trop de friction. N'hésitez pas à poser des questions ou à mentionner tout malaise ressenti afin que la massothérapeute puisse utiliser une autre approche ou technique.

  6. Les huiles de massage peuvent-elles causer des effets secondaires?[Top]

    La plupart des massothérapeutes utilisent des huiles ou lotions de massage hypoallergéniques. Toutefois, si vous réagissez à certains types d'huiles, faites-en part à la massothérapeute qui pourra alors en choisir qui vous conviennent parmi ceux de sa collection. Vous pouvez aussi apporter votre propre huile ou lotion si cela vous rend plus à l'aise.

  7. Un massage est-il toujours approprié?[Top]

    Non, car il existe des conditions médicales pour lesquelles le massage s'avère inapproprié. C'est pourquoi on vous demande de remplir au préalable un formulaire résumant l'histoire de votre état de santé. Avant une séance, la massothérapeute vous posera des questions d'ordre général sur votre santé afin de vérifier s'il existe des contre-indications relatives au massage dans votre cas. Il est très important que vous informiez la praticienne de tout problème de santé ou consommation de médicaments vous concernant. Si vous êtes suivi(e) par un médecin, nous vous suggérons fortement d'obtenir une recommandation écrite pour massage avant de commencer une séance. Il se pourrait d'ailleurs que la massothérapeute exige une telle recommandation de votre médecin.

  8. Quelle est la durée d'une séance de massage?[Top]

    Habituellement, un massage de tout le corps dure environ une heure. En une demi-heure on ne peut faire qu'un massage partiel, par exemple, masser le cou et les épaules, le dos ou le derrière des jambes et les pieds. Plusieurs personnes préfèrent une séance de 60 ou 90 minutes afin d'atteindre une relaxation maximale. Quoi qu'il en soit, permettez-vous une période de relaxation avant et après la séance de massage.

  9. Comment vais-je me sentir après la séance de massage?[Top]

    La plupart des individus se sentent très relaxés après un massage. Certains se voient même libérés de douleurs persistantes liées à des activités ou gestes répétitifs. Après une période initiale de rythme ralenti, la plupart des personnes ressentent souvent un regain d'énergie, une conscience plus vive et une productivité accrue qui peut durer plusieurs jours. Puisque des toxines sont libérées de vos tissus musculaires, on vous recommande de boire beaucoup d'eau après le massage. Des massothérapeutes suggèrent parfois de prendre un bain au sel Epsom, ce qui aide à relâcher des toxines remuées par le massage.

 

Réponses Acuponcture:

 

  1. - Quelles conditions l'acuponcture peut-elle traiter?[Top]

    Plusieurs Canadiens et Canadiennes ont été initiés à la médecine orientale grâce à divers articles de magazines ou émissions de télévision. Ils et elles sont maintenant curieux de savoir si ce type de médecine peut avoir une influence bénéfique sur leur état de santé. L'Organisation Mondiale de la Santé (OMS) a dressé une liste d'environ 200 conditions cliniques qui bénéficieraient de 'acuponcture.:

    • Maux de dos douleurs au cou et aux épaules
    • Insomnie
    • Migraines et maux de tête
    • Dépendance à l'alcool, aux aliments et au tabac
    • Blessures accidentelles (L'acuponcture en favorise la guérison)
    • Entorses
    • Ostéoarthrite ou arthrose
    • Polyarthrite rhumatoïde
    • Problèmes respiratoires
    • Problèmes digestifs
    • Troubles gynécologiques
    • Troubles circulatoires
    • Troubles du système nerveux

    L'acuponcture aide à diminuer le stress et l'anxiété de même qu'à induire un état de relaxation profonde qui contribue au processus de guérison. Les herbes médicinales peuvent aussi accroître l'efficacité d'un traitement d'acuponcture; on les utilise d'abord pour traiter un trouble médical interne chronique.

  2. Comment fonctionne l'acuponcture?[Top]

    L'acuponcture fonctionne avec l'énergie vitale du corps ou Qi. Le Qi suit des lignes très précises partout le long du corps, que certains scientifiques reconnaissent comme des circuits de moindre résistance. Les points d'acuponcture correspondent à des endroits, facilement accessibles, où la circulation de cette énergie a tendance à se bloquer. L'interruption du flux d'énergie cause des symptômes de douleurs, de maladies et de malaises. Après avoir identifié les causes et sources du blocage, on peut avoir accès au Qi par les points d'acuponcture et favoriser un flux équilibré d'énergie. Tout le corps bénéficie du rétablissement d'un flux harmonieux de son énergie vitale, Alors, les symptômes de la perturbation de cette énergie tendent à disparaître.

  3. - Qu'impliquent l'examen et la consultation?[Top]

    Un examen ou une consultation comprend l'information concernant votre histoire médicale et ce que vous révèle votre corps au sujet de votre santé : l'apparence du visage, la constitution physique, la forme et la couleur de la langue, la qualité du pouls, la sensation au toucher des endroits de diagnostic comme l'abdomen et le dos... L'acuponcteur ou acuponctrice peut vérifier certaines faiblesses le long des méridiens ou dans les muscles, parfois, au moyen d'un appareil permettant de mesurer l'activité électrique aux points d'acuponcture.

  4. Quelle est la durée d'une visite chez l'acuponcteur ou acuponctrice?[Top]

    En général, la première visite est la plus longue; elle dure environ une heure afin de permettre de recueillir toutes les données nécessaires concernant votre état de santé. Les séances de suivi sont plus courtes; elles durent de 15 à 45 minutes, selon le praticien ou la praticienne et les besoins du patient. Parfois, on ajoute au traitement d'acuponcture des techniques connexes comme la moxibustion, l'acupression et autres exercices spécifiques.

  5. Est-ce que l'acuponcture est sécuritaire?[Top]

    Oui. L'acuponcture ne présente aucun effet secondaire désagréable et n'entre pas en conflit avec quelque traitement médical que ce soit. à peine une légère ecchymose locale (un bleu) ou un petit effet d'étourdissement, chez certaines personnes, Pour d'autres, un toucher très léger assurera les résultats désirés. En Chine, l'approche peut paraître plus agressive, mais en Occident, elle est plus douce. Le seul malaise que pourrait ressentir un patient ou une patiente serait celui provoqué par la nouveauté de l'approche : sensation bizarre d'une chaleur ou tension locale très légère. La sensation habituelle est celle d'une relaxation générale et profonde. De plus, les praticiens et praticiennes prennent toutes les mesures sanitaires pour assurer une propreté exemplaire comme chez tous les professionnel(le)s de la santé; les aiguilles utilisées en acuponcture sont stériles et ne servent qu'une fois. Les saignements sont très rares, à moins qu'on les provoque dans des cas spécifiques où, d'ailleurs, ils sont faibles et aucunement dangereux.

  6. Est-ce que les aiguilles font mal?[Top]

    Les aiguilles utilisées en acuponcture sont presque aussi mince qu'un cheveu. Le patient craintif qui ressent l'aiguille pour la première fois, voit souvent sa peur disparaître. La technique est très douce et chaque séance est taillée sur mesure d'après les besoins particuliers et les sensibilités du patient ou de la patiente. En plus de la technique d'acuponcture, on utilise parfois la moxibustion qui transmet de la chaleur aux méridiens, l'acupression et la succion par ventouse. On recommande également assez souvent des combinaisons d'herbes. Finalement, on donne aux patients et patientes des suggestions de soins personnalisés à observer entre les séances d'acuponcture.

  7. Qu'est-ce que la moxibustion?[Top]

    Par l'application sur la peau de moxa, des cônes d'armoise (artemisia vulgaris), une plante qu'on fait brûler lentement, on diffuse de la chaleur sur les points d'acuponcture. La moxibustion (Chiu) est un art et, en chinois, le mot signifie marquer d'une cicatrice avec un objet brûlant. En réalité, on ne fait pas de cicatrice.

  8. Qu'est-ce que la succion par ventouse?[Top]

    Cette technique thérapeutique utilise des cloches de verre déposées sur la peau, dans lesquelles on crée un vide partiel par une forme de chaleur, de manière à provoquer une succion.